Paleo-Granola

I don’t want to brag, but pre-paleo I was a damn good baker….

Post-paleo as you can tell I cook a lot, but my sweet yummy treats have had to be put aside. Until now!

I was surfing through my daily internet reads and came across this delightful recipe on the Crossfit Invictus Website. The next day I was in the kitchen with my apron and bake wear!

002


Paleo Granola

  • 5 cups nuts and seeds (pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, pecans, and sunflower seeds; you can use whatever you want, but make sure you use at least 2 – 3 cups slivered almonds, as these take the place of what is normally oats)
  • 1/3 cup honey (or maple syrup or any other Paleo-approved sweetener)
  • 1/3 cup Paleo-friendly oil ( coconut works well)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

Mix honey, oil, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg in a small saucepan and bring to a boil on the stove. Let it cool. Spread the nuts and seeds out on a greased baking sheet and pour the cooled honey mixture over the top. Mix it around to get everything covered, and bake for 30 minutes at 300 degrees. Allow the pan to cool slightly and then put the mixture into a bowl. Mix in raisins and coconut, and enjoy!

Tip from the creator: “Your biggest key to success with this (and really any) recipe is to go a little crazy. Add your own twist to it or branch off in another crazy direction. The granola you see in the picture, for example, was mixed with almond butter, pressed into a brownie pan, and is now chilling in the freezer to make granola bars.”


17 responses to “Paleo-Granola

  1. trying it today!

  2. okay, so I didn’t try it on september 30, but I did just stick my first batch in the freezer- so excited!

    A few things:
    1. a *little* tip I have for making this is to measure out the coconut oil first, then the honey with the same measure, that way the oil is still coating the measuring cup, and the honey glides right out.

    2. I searched 3 grocery stores for unsweetened flakes, but to no avail. do they have it in bulk at the CS HEB?

    3. I got maranatha almond butter, but didn’t notice it was the no-stir variety, which has palm oil AND sugar in it… I guess this batch will just be a bit sweeter :). btw, is palm oil paleo-friendly?

    4. I did 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup dried cherries- yummers!

    thanks for the recipe!

  3. 1. thanks for the cooking advice.

    2. i have had a batch of unsweetened flakes from a friend who moved… ill try to find some. also, it works well without the flakes. last batch i forgot to add them and it was still delicious.

    3. paleo and palm… cordain does not “highly recommend palm or coconut oil” due to it’s saturated fat content… i don’t have a problem with sat fat. we can talk about it more if you would like.

    4. YUM!

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan: 5/3 – 5/8 « Meal Plan

  5. Pingback: Foundation CrossFit Summer Bodies Challenge » Blog Archive » May 4th by danielleb

  6. Hello!

    I have this granola in the oven as I write, and was excited to read your blog. What made it more fun was seeing we only live an hour apart. My hubby and I are both Aggies.

    Anyways, I’ve been reading tons on Paleo and am slowly converting. Thanks for your words. I will check back.

    Jennifer
    in Montgomery, TX

  7. I just made this for the first time today. I am so excited to have it with my homemead almond milk. I mixed it all up in a big bowl first and that was easier then mixing it on the baking sheet. I found flaked (not shredded) unsweetened coconut in the health food section of my major grocery store or at a coop or whole foods. This might be really good with coconut butter too!

  8. For unsweetened, shredded coconut, try your local Indian or international grocery store, if you have one.

  9. Pingback: Chock Full of Nuts Grain-Free Granola | Mind Your Bees and Trees

  10. This recipe was just what I was looking for (found you from google). I added unsweetened dried cherries (chopped) and a few tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder. So good! Thanks again!

  11. Pingback: vegetarian paleo | Leading The Good Life

  12. Only change I made was to do half raisins / half unsweetened cranberries – was delicious! I’d prolly add more cinnamon next time, but otherwise faboo! Great cereal replacement w/ almond milk! Even my cave-BF thought I’d “cheated” & put oats in it — he was shocked it was just sunflower seeds & unsweetened coconut (and he’s not even a coconut fan, but he liked it!)

  13. I make this all the time and the family gobbles it right up. I’ve made a couple varieties and it turns out perfect every time. It’s really simple to make too. One of my favorite recipes!

  14. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I
    am encountering troubles with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  15. Pingback: Hospitality – Growing up Gibson

  16. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as
    well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme
    or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing,
    it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

Leave a Reply

