thoughts, goals, and one-z’s

This past weekend I drove to my good ol’ home town.

Odessa Tx.

odessa

15 hours of driving.

I know I am a little crazy, but when you need some family time, you need some family time…

So, I had a lot of time to think. I was thinking about why I do some of the things I do.

To fill you in on a little background: I played soccer for 15years, a little college ball, triathlons and then strict running. Running was tiring, long, and honestly played a great role in completely breaking my body down. With all of this, I do understand how it is so wonderful for people. Despite the endorphins, running was something that I struggled through. I do not know why, but I did love the struggle. I loved overcoming a distance. If there were something going on in my life that I needed to work through, my run was the place where my thoughts could fight. Sometimes I would run until the problem in my head was solved.

I am not saying that I don’t find that kind of release now, with my current workouts. It is different. I love the skill, the practice, the patience and the consistency that the Olympic Lifts require. I love the variation in Crossfit. I LOVE the results. I love the community.

Before I step on the platform each day I have to prepare myself. There is a challenge. Running served it’s purpose in it’s time and for some whose goals still revolve around running, Please continue on…

My goals have changed. So I do not run as much. I have learned to channel the energy I get from my daily lifestyle and the things I may struggle with into my lifts. There is much more waiting and contemplating now.

 

It is good.

 

With all that to say I am competing in my first Weightlifting Meet!

 

Here comes the One-Z!

Leave a Reply

