did someone say pie?

Thanksgiving is coming soon and this is the first year Danny and I will be hosting for the family.

With the big meal in mind, I am looking for delicious ideas (paleo ideas) that will keep the family happy on this special day. I have found a few that I’ll be experimenting with in the next few days, but I’d love to hear from you. What do you do for Thanksgiving with all of those stuffing, pie crusts and day after sandwiches?

I will sadly admit the years before I’ve given in and just hoovered down everything. I would love this year to indulge in some deliciousness and not think twice (because it would be without dairy/gluten).

This is the first of experiments. I got this recipe again from performance menu. After making it I read some negative things about agave nectar. I know to be weary of too much CHO/sugars, but maybe next time I may try substituting with honey.

It was yummy.

ENJOY! Sorry there are no pictures today!

Pumpkin Pie
Scotty Hagnas
December 2006

Time: 10 minutes prep, 45 minutes baking

• 3 1/2 C pumpkin puree
• 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
• 2 eggs
• 1/4 C agave nectar
• 2 Tbsp ground almonds
• 1/2 tsp each of ginger, cloves, cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg
• 1 C pecans

Combine all of the ingredients except the pecans in a bowl, mix well. Pour into a dish for baking pies. Cover with the pecans. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

If the pie is chilled before serving, it will cut and serve much better. It tends to crumble more easily if still warm.

Zone info: 6 servings at – 2.5 carb blocks, .5 protein block, 5.4 fat blocks

2 responses to “did someone say pie?

  1. That looks awesome! I’m going to try it out on my CF ladies 🙂

  2. Pingback: twice baked ham « The Memoirs of a Strong Girl

Leave a Reply

