twice baked ham

Thanksgiving came and left so quickly. The food was delicious and the company was refreshing. We ate well, slept often, read some great books, and spent quality time with family. My goal was to have solely paleo foods (in order to avoid temptation), but my mom was in town.  You know how it goes… She cooked what she wanted and I cooked what I wanted. It turned out great. Both parties (paleo and non) were happy!

Thanksgiving list:

Turkey

Brussels

Butternut Squash

Bacon wrapped dates

Stuffed mushrooms

Pumpkin Pie

Cranberries (homemade, not the canned stuff)

My Mimi’s Mayo

I will try to post recipes for those that I have missed. We also had some ham. I goofed on this one. Okay so I am known for cooking some good food. I am also known for misreading directions….  I purchased a spiraled cut ham.  Let me just say I’ve never cooked ham, but I love to experiment. So I thought this would be great, ham for Thanksgiving. Yum!

Well with that said I put the ham in the oven for the amount of time the directions indicated. ~3 hours… Well 3 hours later I learned that spiraled cut ham is pre-cooked.

This Thanksgiving we had some twice baked ham.

Not my finest moment, but I am planning to make a mean Quiche with that ham!

Turning lemons into lemonade… 🙂

3 responses to “twice baked ham

  1. Sounds like a yummy meal! Don’t feel bad about the ham – almost everyone buys pre-cooked ham (either baked or smoked) and then bakes it for 2ish hours to reheat. You don’t have to heat it up, but most people like it that way better (though it’s nice because you don’t have to worry about the meat being uncooked if you don’t have enough time to heat it all the way).

  2. ha, thanks for making me feel better! it was definitely not just heated up… more on the over cooked and dry side.

    hopefully we can hang out with you and joe sometime soon!

  3. Pingback: Menu and shrimps « The Memoirs of a Strong Girl

Leave a Reply

