back to the kitchen

To be fully honest, since Thanksgiving I have been in a creative cooking rut. I have tried to portion out our food from Thanksgiving in the hopes it would last until Christmas…. But, the day has come and our leftovers are finished.

Now it is time to find some new recipes.

Last night I decided to attempt to make my most favorite salad. I have some issues with salads and soups. They are my own weird objections to what their role should play during a meal. I feel they should not be entitled to an entrée position especially if it does not have meat. Without the meat I sit there and wonder why…

A meal is supposed to fill you up, not leave you hungry. Just my thoughts. A few people in my life have proven me wrong. Only a few.

And by people I mean Z Tejas. This is one of my favorite restaurants because of the salad. I could not find the recipe so I improvised. It turned out to be a delightful dinner. Danny told me about five times that he would pay $15 for a bowl of this salad. Marshall said he would pay $25. I think by that point they had been drinking a little.

Either way I receive those complements.

Mango Steak Salad: (I am sorry for the lack of measurements. Be creative, if you are feeling the avocado use more. Take out what you don’t like. This is the beauty of cooking. You don’t have to eat what I say is good. Figure out what you like and go for it!)


Ingredients:

Steak Cutlets (dry rub – paprika, cinnamon, onion pwd, pepper, salt)
Spinach/lettuce
Mango
Avocado
Pecans
*not paleo- but I used some leftover blue cheese
Olive Oil

Place 1-2 tbsp of Olive Oil on a skillet, turn heat to medium. Place Steak on skillet and allow to fully cook. Rinse/wash spinach and place in a large bowl. Cut mango and avocado into pieces and place in the bowl. Put pecans and blue cheese in bowl. After steak is cooked, cut into strips or cubes and place on salad.

Serve with Salad dressing (recipe below)


Poppy Seed Salad Dressing:

1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1 lemon (the juice)
1 1/2 teaspoons poppy seeds
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon prepared mustard

Place ingredients into a jar and shake well. Use with salad.

2 responses to “back to the kitchen

  1. Love to hear you like the mango steak salad so much! We hope to see you soon for the real thing!

  2. Pingback: New Year beginnings and good pizza. « The Memoirs of a Strong Girl

Leave a Reply

