Menu and yumness.

I know this is late but, here is the Dinner List!

Friday: Dinner with the Douglass Family!

Saturday: Roast

Sunday: Sloppy Joes

Monday: Meatloaf

Tuesday: Sausage

Wednesday: Brisket

Thursday: Burgers

We recently had the Sloppy Joes and they were fantastic! I added a little salsa to the mix. Sometimes I just need something spicy. Also the sausage and artichoke is amazing. I have done a few variations. I usually fry the egg b/c it takes me less time and I add red onion. YUM!!!

Observe:


Almond Crusted Chicken:

  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Spanish paprika
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 6 ounces each)
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

Finely chop the almonds in a mini-chopper or food processor. Transfer the nuts to a shallow dish and stir in the paprika. Lightly whisk the egg whites in another shallow dish. Pat the chicken dry and season both sides with salt and pepper. Dip each piece of chicken into the egg, letting the excess fall back into the dish. Then press both sides of the chicken into the nuts to coat. Place on a baking sheet, cover, and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes to set the crust.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place rack on a baking sheet.

Heat a medium nonstick skillet over medium-low heat and add 1 tablespoon of the oil and the butter. Place the chicken smooth-side down in the pan and then raise the heat to medium-high. Cook turning once, until the nuts set and turn golden brown, about 3 to 4 minutes per side. Transfer meat to the prepared pan and bake until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the sides of the chicken registers 160 degrees F, about 20 minutes.

Sloppy Joes with cabbage and avocado.

Sausage, fried egg, artichokes, bacon, red onion!

4 responses to “Menu and yumness.

  1. I’ve been following your blog for a while now (I can’t remember how I originally stumbled across you), but I LOVE IT! My husband decided about a year ago that he wanted to follow the Zone diet, and while we love it, I often get bored with the menu. So, I’m LOVING all the new recipes I’m finding on your blog. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Laura,

      It is good to hear from you! Thank you so much for the sweet comment! Are you guys still doing Zone or just Paleo?

      And congrats on the new baby and recent marathon! Your blog is pretty great as well!

  2. Hm, we go back and forth between zone recipes and paleo recipes – either way I’m satisfied that we’re eating healthy!

  3. jordan! i had no idea that you had your own blog and wrote on it so frequently. i’m hooked, thanks for all of the great food posts. we have been really experimenting with no sugar and very little carbs. can’t wait to see more!-
    kristen douglass

Leave a comment