training

It has been way too long since my last update and since I’ve mentioned anything about training.

I’ve been doing Crossfit for close to 2 1/2 years now. And each year I make a goal to compete at the games level. And each year I find some reason to do it the next year. And now, 3 years later I find myself am saying “next year will be the year”.  I don’t want my words to be empty and my “goals” to never come about.  So this year will be different. I now have a coach! He knows my goals. He holds me accountable. I have someone else besides my husband to bitch and wine to (this is definitely a relationship saver:). He programs my workouts. This is HUGE for me! I have been doing my own programming for the past year and my progress is not near where it should be. It has nothing to do with my programming. I believe I have become a damn good programmer, BUT it is my own and somewhere within me I feel like I have the right to change it if it becomes hard.

I know I’m a wienie, but I recognize it and now I’m doing something to change. Because he programs my workouts, I work twice as hard. If someone is taking the time to learn me and learn the things I need, I am damn sure going to return the effort.

If you want something, figure out what is keeping you from achieving your goals and bring about action. In this case I was keeping myself from getting what I wanted. Most of the times we keep ourselves from achieving our true potential (in whatever that may be). It helps to bring in someone from the outside who can push you towards your goals and to be a reminder of why you’re doing the things you’re doing.

Moral of the story: If you don’t have a coach, you probably need one.

2 responses to “training

  1. I can’t wait to see you in competition mode Jordan! Great post, I wish I would have read that 4 months ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

